Supervisor Murray Honors 14 Police Officers During Hempstead Town’s 2012 Police Service Awards Ceremony

Supervisor Kate Murray honored 14 police officers for their outstanding service during the Town of Hempstead’s 2012 Police Service Awards ceremony on September 19, 2012 at the Nathan L.H. Bennett Pavilion at Hempstead Town Hall. Police officers from the villages of Freeport, Garden City, Lynbrook, Malverne, Rockville Centre and from the Nassau County Police Department were recognized for their respective acts of heroism in the line of duty.

“While we live, work and raise our families here in the Town of Hempstead, our dedicated police officers are patrolling the streets to ensure that our quality of life is protected,” stated Murray. “I am proud to present these 14 police officers with the town’s Police Service Award in recognition of their heroic and selfless acts.”

The following police officers were honored during the town’s 2012 Police Service Awards ceremony:

• Officer Brian Judson, Nassau County 1st Precinct

• Officer Michael Bonsignore, Nassau County 2nd Precinct

• Detective Charles Swany, Nassau County 2nd Squad

• Officers Ryan Hines and Jesus Bonilla, Nassau County 3rd Precinct

• Officers Robert Ryan and John Lutz, Nassau County 4th Precinct

• Detective Anthony Draghi, Nassau County 4th Squad

• Officer Juan Giron, Nassau County 5th Precinct

• Officer Joseph China, Freeport Police Department

• Officer Stephen Oswald, Garden City Police Department

• Officer Robert Harrison, Lynbrook Police Department

• Sergeant Robert Donovan, Malverne Police Department

• Officer Evan Siar, Rockville Centre Police Department

“I am proud to honor these police officers for their bravery, heroism, dedication and commitment in serving and protecting this great township,” concluded Murray. “Thanks to their selflessness and dedication, Hempstead Town remains a safe community in which to live, work and raise a family.”